Skip to content
Tags

Olives, cherries and Ricotta in Puglia

May 30, 2013

I arrived in Italy, well known for its amazing cheese and 8th country of my journey, with a slack stomach thanks to a bumpy night on the ferry from Dubrovnik to Bari. However, my appetite for cheese was still intact, thank god, because Apulia is home to one of my favourites, the Pecorino. And that was along with Ricotta, the first thing I tasted in beautiful Alberobello. A small town, famous for the so called trulli, a entire village of gray-stone built houses from the 14th century, protected by UNESCO, surrounded by endless fields of cherry trees, olive groves, poppies and rosemary bushes … very inviting for wonderful walks.
Local treats that should be mentioned is Burruta, a cow’s milk mozzarella with creamy liquid inside, a fresh cheese that should be eaten the same day of production (as a sidenote, in the unlikely event that you don’t eat it all in one go….well, I did). Caciocavallo, as lots of other cheeses in that region a cooked stretched-curd cheese and there is my beloved Ricotta fresco, best fresh cheese that ever melted in my mouth. I had to close my eyes and to concentrate not to swallow to quickly, so much I enjoyed the flavour…

From → France

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

